Zero Dark Thirty

Oh, violence. How I love you and hate you.

In some twisted way, this movie makes me really feel like “America! Fuck Yeah!” and also meta-horrified at my nationalistic response.

I could definitely understand the criticism of the opening scene glorifying and justifying torture, since apparently that’s not what lead to information about UBL’s (oh, yeah, and now I’m hip to intelligence acronyms and jargon) location and killing. I could feel myself becoming numb to the evil of torture as I sat watching it.

A couple of high points for me:

  • Jessica Chastain telling off her boss, and then telling the CIA Director “I’m the motherfucker who found this, so yeah.”
  • Chris Pratt and Joel Edgerton as Navy SEALS. With big bushy beards. Playing horseshoes in the desert.

Box Office Bottom Line: Recommended for war movie fans.

Leave a comment